Skip to content

Rand Paul, Trey Grayson and the never-ending fight for my services.

November 9, 2009

Ok, so maybe I over-stated the title a bit, but who’s counting? As I’m sure many of my rabid fan base (all two of you) know, I used to be a Trey Grayson supporter. Well, I wouldn’t say supporter. I’d call it more of a lack of really digging in on the issues and thinking hard about who I wanted to support. Nonetheless, Mr. Grayson did have my support. And though I’ve always liked Mr. Grayson (and still do) and believe he’s a good man that has done a lot for Kentucky, I realize that another establishment Republican who will be accountable to special interest and Mitch McConnell is not what Kentucky needs.

Yet, as the story goes, It was summer and I was looking for a way to get involved in some campaigns come the start of the school year. It was late one night, I had just gotten home from work and I decided to do a little campaign searching online. I was Trey’s friend on Facebook, so I sent him a message something to the effect of: “Hey, Mr. Grayson, just wanted to let you know that I’m a big fan and hope you make a run at Governor or Bunning’s Senate seat. I’d be interested in helping you out.” Don’t quote me verbatim there, but it was close.

Anyhow, I was just researching some campaign stuff and watching video’s of speeches and such and was blown away by this Rand Paul fellow. Although I had never been a fan of his fathers, he was making real sense and had the kind of big ideas this country needs. I immediately visited his website and was hooked. I saw that David Adams had been named Campaign manager. Like any college student, I used what tools I had available to me, which usually consists of Facebook. I sent David a facebook message at 11:28 PM on August 10th. He replied on August 10th at 11:31 PM with his phone number and asked me to call him. Just three minutes later.

After talking with David (who did an excellent job making me feel welcome and expressed interest in making me a valuable member of the team)and educating myself further about Rand, I knew this is where I wanted to be. By the next morning, I had talked to David and written an article to my local paper (The Messenger Inquirer out of Owensboro) about Rand. I expected a reply back from Mr. Grayson in about a week, when I would politely tell him that I’m no longer interested in working with him. In other words, “I still have a lot of respect for you, but I found my guy.”

Well I did get a response back from Mr. Grayson….tonight (that would be November 8th). That’s right, nearly four months later he sent me a message back inviting me to visit his website and his “Get Involved” section to join the campaign. In fairness, he did apologize for the delay in replying.

Now, I again stand by what I said earlier: I still respect Mr. Grayson and still like him, but don’t you think it’s kind of odd that within a week of some grim poll numbers for him, he’s scouring the Facebook inbox for old volunteer requests? Something that troubles me further: I’ve been “un-friended” by Mr. Grayson on Facebook. I know he’s hit the 5,000 limit or whatever and he also did this to David Adams. I don’t know if it’s because I’m an “officer” on the Rand Paul for Senate facebook group or what.

To make a long story short, I think it’s unlikely that I will be taking Mr. Grayson’s advice and filling out my information on his webpage. I appreciate the promptness and personal way he got back to me, but it’s safe to say that it’s just not enough this time.

From → Uncategorized

5 Comments
  1. Wow!

    Just, wow.

    That’s all I can say. He doesn’t even do mainstream politician very well, if it takes him that long to get back to somebody.

    I was always taught in sales, you need to follow up the next day, or the odds approach zero that you’ll even have a live contact anymore.

    I wonder, has Grayson ever had a business, or been in customer service where that fast response attitude was important? If not, that might partially explain things.

    He should just run for governor. I think he probably understands Kentucky issues much better then national ones.

    Tracy

  2. Nice to have you on the team. I’ve talked to acquaintance who is a big time Republican strategist, they were taken by surprise by Rand. In all fairness to Grayson, he probably never thought that he would have to enlist a facebook supporter because the nomination was his.

    Oops…

    With the latest poll numbers were in for a fight.

    42303 ya’here

    Green River Liberty

  3. Matt permalink

    How could you not be a fan of his father…unless perhaps you dislike the idea of liberty!?!…kidding.
    Of course you’re right. One mistake people commonly make is not checking up on the candidates. More people need to examine the platforms of the potential candidates and see if they take principled stances on individual issues. I have nothing against Grayson -the person, but it took him several months to put an issues page on his web page.

    Keep up the hard work.
    Support and respect from Indiana.

  4. Dan permalink

    The real, big money bomb will be on December 16th.

    http://www.randsteaparty.com/

  5. Mike W permalink

    I think its critical, when electing people to federal office, to make sure that our candidates have a ‘philosophy of liberty’ that’s exemplified by adherence to the U.S Constitution. Good intentions are fine in state office but policies of ‘good intention’ at the federal level that do not fall within the limits of the Constitution so often have disastrous unintended consequences. Our politicians so often think that they can dismiss the founders who based the concept of limited government on thousands of years of world history and made a system that works if followed. Rand Paul has this philosophy and reflects it.

Leave a Reply

